Artist Trading Cards (ATCs)

Dia de los Muertos ATC Swap

Dia de los Muertos ATC Swap

I usually try to avoid being a part of anything that has the word “Artist” tied to it, but I may have found my new favorite endeavor… at least until the next one comes along! So far it’s fun, and I want to do a bunch of them.

Joined Swap-bot and signed up for 3 ATC swaps, so I’d say I’m on my way. They swap all kinds of artsy-fartsy stuff on that site. People make up and organize their own swaps, so there’s all KINDS of different things going on there. If you’re into that stuff, you should check it out.

I was thinking a few weeks ago that I wanted to take a break from making quilts, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to play around with instead. Shrink plastic? Sounds like fun. Papier Mache? Yes, I’ll try some of that. ATCs? YEAH!!

Above is the first of 2 cards that I am making for a Day of the Dead swap. I love this theme, and I’m currently working on a “Dia de los Muertos” quilt for my daughter. Lots of leftover fabrics, so I used some of them to make this. Do you realize how little material was needed for this? MINISCULE!! Plus, I get to play with beads and trims and sequins!

I think I have found a happy home.

One response to “Artist Trading Cards (ATCs)

  1. I have more than all the supplies to make some of these in every medium known to western woman, but haven’t done one yet. You have inspired me!!
    Love this one and can’t wait to see #2.

Leave a comment