Collage Lab – Washes

This was an interesting and messy challenge for me.  I really like almost all of the samples that I did, except one which totally sucked so I tossed it.  Really.  It was bad.

I wanted to get some really evident texture on my pieces, so I started with textured wallpaper and gessoed it up real good like in our first Lab.  I did find that some of the washes didn’t want to really stick too well, but it ended up being okay (sort of) because it made the texture even more evident.

This example was done with a watered acrylic over the gesso base.  I added slightly watered down ink for the top, which worked nicely as far as getting some good strong color.

 

I’m working with colors I don’t usually use, so every time I see this one I do a double-take 🙂  Light acrylic wash over gessoed base, with a heavier acrylic wash on part of the top.  I like how the color is so saturated.

 

I really like this one a lot.  The layer over the gesso is a light acrylic, and the second is the same paint, just a bit thicker.  I sprayed a really light coat of some Radiant Rain, which is an opalescent spray with an acrylic base that comes in every color in the rainbow.  The colors remind me of watermelon. It is really pretty in the sunlight.

 

I used inks that I mixed with water and some Radiant Rain.  I did several  coats hoping that the color would build up.  I like the way it turned out 🙂

 

This one is my absolute favorite.  I love how the color settled in the grooves of the substrate.  Cool!  I used a light ink background with an acrylic paint wash over it.  I did the Radiant Rain thing on this one, too.  It absolutely shimmers in the light.  I love the opalescence.   This effect would be an awesome sky, don’t you think?

Fun exercise.  Where’s my Lab coat???

Leave a Reply

