Daily Archives: June 12, 2008

I Love Oregon

Every time I walk outside, I am amazed all over again how beautiful it is here. And it’s not because my memory is gone, either! When California and the southwest are in a drought, here it is green and lush and the Cascades are full of snow. I heard today that all of the ski area are going to be opening again! There just might be skiing until summer.

As much as I love seeing the mountains white again, I have to realize that it’s not quite normal, and I wonder if things ever will be again. Yes, and George Bush is still waiting for the science to come in on global warming. What a crock! The guy is an idiot. You know, a hundred years ago, someone with eyes that close together would in all probability be locked up. Back then they thought it was a sign of a psychopathic personality. Or maybe it was a sociopathic… Wow! They may have been right!

Some more of the patterns I ordered at Quilt Market in Portland came in today at the shop where I teach. I will be making several… one for a shop sample, and one for ME!! Of course this is another Sue Spargo pattern. I really like her designs. Lots of wool applique and antique/vintage-looking fabrics.
I also really like the fact that she uses BUTTONS on this tote.

It is made primarily of upholstery fabrics. My friend Peggy was given many discontinued samples from one of the local furniture stores, so I’m going to hit her up for a few. With most of the samples we made tote bags for the ladies that come into the local womens’ shelter to escape spousal abuse . That way they at least have something to carry the few items that they managed to escape with. Often they had to use garbage bags. 😦